Posted by: fseamans | November 10, 2010

Remembering Jack Seamans…

Some of you may have heard that my Daddy’s health has been very fragile since his open heart surgery a few years ago… he just never really recovered from that battle… early this morning, Jack Seamans quietly left this earth and passed over the threshold he so enjoyed singing about… that chilly Jordan, as he would probably put it.

I can imagine him spending his first day in heaven putting together a scrap-iron quartet somewhere up there… and finding an old Gibson cutaway guitar over in the corner… strumming out a G chord, just like the old Chuck Wagon Gang songs used to kick off, and then launching into a gospel hymn… something like Farther Along or Where Could I Go. And everybody that’s anywhere near that cloud of witnesses joining along. Nobody ever enjoyed singing a gospel song more than Jack Seamans. Heaven’s music will be alot sweeter after today.

The funeral service will be Thursday morning at 11 am at Glendale Baptist Church… all my brothers and sisters and I will sing some of his favorite hymns in the service… the preacher will say some kind words about a life well lived… the grandsons, my five boys and their cousins, will carry him to his final resting place there in the local country cemetery. I can imagine the stories that will be told of how he touched lives and I can already sense the love and comfort of all the family and friends that will come to pay their final respects to a man they all respected very much.

Many memories come to my mind as I write out these words… mostly very intimate things like his toothy grin and his big hands… how he would hold up those fists and call them “Arkansas haymakers”… and the way he clapped those rough hands together in that silly double-clapping thing he did… or always breaking the G-string on his Gibson because he strummed it so hard.

Then there are special moments we shared… like the night out on the porch of our trailer house on Dawson’s Lake when I was about 12… he blew warm Camel cigarette smoke into my ears to soothe an ear infection… and it worked! Or the time he sat at the dinner table in our home and explained to the family that things were going to be a bit tight around there for a while because he was starting over from scratch with A-Tex Furniture… and how he and mom worked sun-up to sun-down for the next several months to pull us through it. Then I remember how he would always warn us about that same spot in the highway every time we headed home from the country, or how he seemed to know somebody every where we went. And there was something special about the way he always responded when I went to him with some kind of dilemma, which was a fairly regular occurence for me… he always had a “been there and done that” story of his own and it always calmed my troubled spirit to know he could relate.

My strongest memory of Daddy is the way he thrived on singing and entertaining folks. I’m so thankful the Lord gave me the opportunity to tag along with my Daddy and watch him entertain folks with that Gibson cutaway and toothy grin, belting out songs with his incredible vocal range and winsome disposition. Jack Seamans was everybody’s friend and when he sang and played, the whole world listened… or at least, that’s the way it seemed to me. I’m so thankful that he imparted to me that same love for entertaining and ministering to people’s hearts with a song… anything I’ve ever or will ever accomplish in the ministry of music will be simply due to those nights I spent as his wing man, strumming along and trying to find a harmony part.

We haven’t lost him… because we know exactly where he is. Jack Seamans was right with God. He made that clear any time the subject of salvation was brought up. The night I got saved at Woodland Trails Baptist Church in Houston and, in my overwhelmed zeal, suggested how I wished “my whole family could experience what I had”… I remember fondly the way he stood and proclaimed he had been saved as a teenager! Yes… he was ready to meet his Maker… and sometime early this morning, he finally did.

Daddy used to sing an old gospel song that said “When you have reached the top of Old Mount Zion… Brother I’ll not be too far behind,” That’s my prayer tonight, Daddy… that it won’t be too long before we get to sing together again. Until then, enjoy your rest… you certainly have earned it!

Responses

  1. We’re sorry sorry Frank. Our love and prayers are with you guys!!!!

    Brian

  2. Oh my… I’m so sorry! We will be praying for your family as you go through this difficult time. We love you!

  3. Frank, I am so sorry to hear of your loss! My family and I are all praying that God will strengthen you all and give you peace.
    We love you so much!

  4. Thinking of you and your family during at this time. Rejoicing with you in the comfort of knowing “another one of God’s singers has gone home”. What a great reunion we have to look forward to.
    God Bless you all.

  5. So sorry for your lost, but so glad heaven gained another soul today. It won’t be long until we will all meet again. We will be praying for all of the family.

    God bless & keep you all.

  6. Hey Frank.. So sorry about your dad. Prayers from Canada coming your way!

  7. Sorry to hear about your loss, but I’ll be praying for you. God has given you a great perspective and attitude on life, and I know that God will use you use and this time of sorrow for great things.

  8. We’re so sorry to hear of your father’s passing. May God comfort you & give you peace & joyous memories until you meet him again.

  9. From one sibling to another–Amen and Amen! I love you, big brother!

  10. Frank, the funeral was a fitting tribute to a man who left a strong legacy of music to his children. I was so glad I could be there to say goodbye to the man I has always just been simply my Uncle Jack. These words are also a fitting tribute to the man! Good job! My love and prayers to you all! I so enjoyed spending a little time with Libby and getting to know her as well. She is a very neat lady and I pray that things go well for you in Houston.

  11. Frank, Sorry to hear about the passing of you father. Our prayers are with you and your family. We know that one day in Christ you will meet him again.

  12. Frank,

    So Sorry to hear about your loss. What a comfort to know where he is now and what glorious things he must be experiencing.
    Praise God for healing Frank Jr.!
    “What A Mighty God We Serve,” sometimes seems like such an understatement.
    I’ll be in Houstom visiting family for Thanksgiving. Maybe we can visit.
    We have a lot of catching up to do.

    Love you, brother,
    Mark Atkinson

  13. Frank, we rejoice with you knowing that your dad is safe in the arms of Jesus! We shall continue to pray for you and your family, as we know his absence here will be a void in your life for a little while. Take care may friend and may God bless and comfort you and your family.

  14. Frank,

    I just discovered your blog and I know Uncle Jack was very proud of you. So am I, cousin. Thanks again to you and your brothers and sisters for helping with Mom’s funeral this week. You have a gift for uplifting people who are grieving and all of us are grateful. And she would have loved it!

    Jim Locke


Leave a Reply

Categories

